Regulation on plastic and disposable cups

Starting from 2020 it will be prohibited to serve drinks in disposable cups, cans and bottles made out of PET during all types of events - from school recitals to big-scale festivals. Soda’s will have to be bought in glass bottles or they will have to be tapped using post mix systems. Subsequently they will have to be served to visitors in reusable cups. The same story goes for all types of beer.

If however you persist on using disposable cups during your event, you have to collect 90% (and 95% starting from 2022 ) of the plastic material and you will also have to provide the evidence that you did so. Years of experience and several projects have shown that frontstage sorting stations don’t do the trick. A deposit system on the other hand can help to purify the waste streams backstage.

Events organised by government institutions

Local governments (provinces, provincial companies, municipalities, municipal companies and intermunicipal partnerships), the Flemish government institutions and the Flemish agencies (Sport Vlaanderen, De Lijn…) are bound by specific rules. In this particular context municipalities are considered to be the city hall, the library and the technical service. Educational institutions, hospitals and other healthcare companies are not included in this case.

Starting from 2020 it will be prohibited for government institutions to use disposable cups for their own day-to-day functioning, meaning drinking fountains and coffee machines must offer reusable cups or mugs. Beverages in cans or PET bottles can no longer be offered to visitors or employees. Employees however are allowed to bring these items from their home, but they have to dispose of them in the appropriate recycling bin.

Government institutions are also prohibited to serve drinks in disposable cups, cans and bottles made out of PET to their visitors during events. Soda’s will have to be bought in glass bottles or will have to be tapped using post mix systems. Subsequently they will have to be served to visitors in reusable cups. The same story goes for all types of beer.

Which are considered to be governmental events?

When talking about governmental events, we’re talking about events where the local authorities can decide themselves on the catering facilities during the event. Events hosted by governments like carnivals and markets where food and drink stands are hosted by different merchants, are not considered governmental events.

Is it allowed to serve drinks in reusable cups? Is the use of single use packaging allowed (cans, PET bottles, single use glass...)?
Events hosted by others than government institutions No, unless the organizer sets up a system that guarantees at least 90% of the cups are collected separately and subsequently recycled (95% starting from 2022) No, unless the organizer sets up a system that guarantees at least 90% of the packaging materials are collected separately and subsequently recycled (95% starting from 2022)
Events hosted by government institutions No No
In office buildings of government institutions No No

European rules

Objectives have also been set at European level with regard to catering material. The SUP Directive is specifically about single-use plastics and must be included in Member States' policies by 2021. The directive contains obligations on foodstuffs that sometimes go beyond Flemish legislation. In addition to a significant reduction in plastic cups, plastic cutlery, plates, straws and stirrers will be banned. Organizers and governments are already anticipating this.

Cookies & Privacy

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website
More info Ok!

Loi concernant le plastique et les gobelets jetables

La loi indique qu’à partir de 2020 il sera interdit de servir toutes sortes de boissons en gobelets, cannettes ou bouteilles à usage unique en PET, cela à tous types d’événements, que ce soit à une fête d’école ou un grand festival. Les organisateurs devront acheter des boissons en verre consigné ou procéder à la distribution par système post mix, puis les distribuer à leurs consommateurs en gobelets réutilisables. La même règle s’applique pour tout type de bières.

Dans le cas où l’organisateur choisit quand même de se servir de gobelets ou tout autres récipients jetables, il devra prouver que 90% (et 95% à partir de 2022) de ceux-ci ont été recueilli à la fin de l’événement. Des projets, ainsi que l’expérience acquise, ont démontrer que des bacs de triage sur le terrain de l’événement n’aident pas à réaliser ce chiffre. La collecte peut, par exemple réussir en utilisant un système de retour pour optimiser ce flux à l'arrière des coulisses.

Evénements organisés par des autorités publiques

Pour les conseils régionaux (les provinces, les entreprises provinciales, les communes, les entreprises communales et les partenariats intercommunaux), les institutions du gouvernement flamand et les agences flamandes (...) des règles spécifiques s’appliquent. Nous considérons sous communes, l’hôtel de ville, bibliothèque et le service technique et non pas les institutions éducatives, les hôpitaux et entreprises de soins.

À partir de 2020, ces institutions ne pourront plus utiliser de gobelets jetables pour leur propre fonctionnement. Ceci engendre l’utilisation de verres ou tasses réutilisables auprès des fontaines à eau et machines à café. Les boissons en bouteilles PET ou cannettes ne peuvent plus être offertes aux visiteurs. Cependant les employés pourront apporter les leurs à condition qu’elles soient jeter dans une poubelle appropriée.

Les autorités publiques ne peuvent-elles non plus offrir ces gobelets jetables, des bouteilles en PET ou canettes aux visiteurs lors de leurs événements. Elles devront acheter des boissons en verre consigné ou procéder à une distribution par système post mix, puis les distribuer aux consommateurs en gobelets réutilisables. La même règle s’applique pour toutes les bières.

Qu’est-ce que l’on considère un événement communal?

Les événements communaux sont ceux où les autorités peuvent elles-même décider du service traiteur, moyennant une étude de marché par exemple. Il ne s’agit donc pas de commerçants qui vendent des boissons et nourriture sur les marchés et foires organisés par des autorités publiques.

Est-ce que l’usage des gobelets jetables pour boissons est permis? Est-ce que l’usage de boissons en emballages à usage unique (canettes, briques en carton, bouteilles en PET, verre perdu…) est permis?
Aux événements non organisés par autorités publiques Non, sauf si l’organisateur prévoit un système qui garantit une collecte de 90% des gobelets pour que ceux-ci puissent être recyclés (95% à partir de 2022) Non, sauf si l’organisateur prévoit un système qui garantit une collecte de 90% des gobelets pour que ceux-ci puissent être recyclés (95% à partir de 2022)
Aux événements organisés par autorités publiques Non Non
Aux bureaux d’ autorités publiques Non Non

Règles européennes

Des objectifs ont également été fixés au niveau européen en ce qui concerne le matériel de restauration. La directive SUP concerne spécifiquement les plastiques à usage unique et doit être incluse dans les politiques des États membres d'ici 2021. La directive contient des obligations concernant les denrées alimentaires qui vont parfois au-delà de la législation flamande. En plus d'une réduction significative des gobelets en plastique, les couverts en plastique, les assiettes, les pailles et les agitateurs seront interdits. Les organisateurs et les gouvernements anticipent déjà cela.

Cookies & Privacy

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website
More info Ok!